Children’s Lit: Day One

I’m auditing Children’s Lit as my “last” M.Ed. course .  We had our first day today, and I’m pretty excited about it. First, the no grade thing takes a lot of the pressure off, especially since the prof confirmed with me today that I only have to do what I find worthwhile. Uh, sweet.  The first thing we did was pick books for presentations: we have to do a poetry book and a picture book. She had bags of books for everyone to pick one, and despite the fact that I was one of the last people to pick, I got the packets with Jack Prelutsky (“Homework, o Homework!”) and Jon Scieszka (Stinky Cheese Man). How the heck did I get so lucky, you may ask? No one else recognized the names and they just chose different stuff, I guess.   (I offered Prelutsky to someone and he declined, even after I began reciting “Homework.” He really had never heard of it. Either that or he could just see my excitement and was being generous. Thanks, Dave!) I’m also in a literature circle reading Letters from Rifka by Karen Hesse. This is just the first class though, I know I’ll be reading a few more.

I’m in class with 9 K-6 majors, one secondary who’s also taking it as an elective, and I’m the sole middle grades, but I’ve taken classes with the other secondary major and I know a couple of the elementary. (I’m in the middle, after all.)  The secondary major and I will have some problems pacing ourselves– we took Novel together where I know we read 12 books in the semester.  We don’t really know how to stop reading anyway.

I’m sure this class will be helpful in multiple ways. First, I want to be introduced to new authors that my students will be interested in reading. Second, the prof is already teaching cool techniques to the class (the way she’s doing literary journals deserves its own entry) and I want to soak it up like a sponge. And third, of course, fodder for the blag.

I’ve got a couple books lined up to read that I’m super excited about (The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott, Viola in Reel Life) but may or may not have the time with the class. Boo my timing.  But because I have high hopes for Children’s Lit I figure no one will mind my reflections or commentaries on the class. 🙂 Til next time…

Leave a comment

Filed under Children's Literature Class

Leave a Reply

