New Year’s “Goal” for the blog

Happy new year! “Let’s hope it’s a good one, without any fear.”

I always make resolutions, and I don’t think I’ve ever kept one… well, maybe one, but ya know.  My friend Lisa sent an email to me about her insistence that she’s making a GOAL, not a resolution. A goal was something to work towards, whereas a resolution just never seemed to work out. And, her goal was a great one: reading more classics.

I figured that I needed to make a few reading goals myself, because the more write for the blog, I realize I get stuck in certain things.

My goal for the new year is to have more books on my shelf that fit these categories:

Reality. I love fantasy and “reality meets fantasy” stories. But I seriously need to get in touch with reality.  My main goal is to have more reality than fantasy.

Books to read in the reality realm: Silver by Norma Fox Mazer, Feathers by Jacqueline Woodson, and Where I’d Like to Be by Frances O’Roarke Dowell

“Boys Read.” I am a girl. As such, I have a hard time looking for books that appeal to boys.   I want to try and find at least a book a month that boys would like to read. (May or may not review it, but reading it will work.)

I don’t have any specifics yet, but I will be checking out  http://www.guysread.com/ and http://boysread.org/books.html
I found “Boys Read” by chance, but I’m thinking “Guys Read” (Jon Scieszka!) is maybe for younger readers and “Boys Read” for older. Don’t hold me to it; as I work with intermediate I’ll check out both.

New & Notable Whereas my friend Lisa wanted to add more classics to her reading repertoire,  I need to add more books written recently to my list. “Recently” … could be within the past five years.

Books on my list include: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins,  39 Clues,  The Book Thief by Mark Zusak

Non-reading goals for the blog: An archives, more organization, and maybe less wordy summarizing.

Hope you have some reading goals in mind for 2011!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

