The Hunger Games series, Suzanne Collins: If I were to create a trailer

Book Trailer:

In a world where the United States is distant memory, twenty-four names are chosen. Each of the twelve districts must send in two of their own children to remind the country of the uprising, when District 13 was obliterated.  The names picked must fight to the death in the Hunger Games.

It isn’t right, to make mere teenagers pawns in this sick game. But there is no choice…

Until Katniss Everdeen makes one.  And it will change the game forever.

5 second summary: It’s like Survivor, but to the death.

Commentary:

The series is awesome, but  these books are still catching on. (They’re definitely popular but I know plenty of people who still have it on their “to read” list.) So I didn’t want to ruin it. And, I was a little bored with my format, so the above trailer would be how I’d sell it to someone that  I’m imagining this conversation with:
“Nothing interests me.  Reading sucks.”
“How about this one? It’s like Survivor but people die.”
“Oh, sweet!”

But, there’s more to it than that. I remembered the line from Dumbledore in the movie version of Goblet of Fire, where he tells the contestants that in the maze, the biggest obstacle is keeping yourself. In a way, that’s exactly what this book is about. You have no choice but to play the game, but you can play it without losing yourself. Our heroine, Katniss, and the other “tribute” from her district, Peeta, are defiant in this. They insist on playing it their way. And that way inspires others to rebel against what they already know isn’t right.

Other thoughts:

  • Panem is North America in a few hundred years, after the apocalypse or nuclear war or global warming destroyed everything else.  Katniss tells us she lives in what used to be called Appalachia, and they are coal miners. I wonder what specific part of Appalachia. I really want a map of Panem. It would be very helpful.
  • {Spoiler Alert} The book series is also about self-sacrifice.   Katniss’s sister’s name was drawn, but Katniss went in her place. Peeta has been in love with Katniss for ages without her knowledge, so he does everything in his power to keep her alive.  This protectiveness becomes mutual later.
  • I think this book would be good for both genders. Strong female protagonist. Strong (but compassionate) male protagonist.  The setting, a dystopian North America, can appeal to the darker natures of both genders. And there’s sports and a love story.

Class stuff:
Grades: 7th & up
Grade: A-. It’s an addicting story, and I can see why it’s so popular.
I will say this, which is the reason for the minus:  I had one of my grammar buddies dislike Collins’s writing style. However, when I had two books that I couldn’t decide which to read first, he immediately said “Mockingjay” (the third in the series). The story trumps the style.

Hunger Games is the strongest of the series, Catching Fire is definitely a transitional book that sets up Mockingjay and while you could probably just read Hunger Games without the sequels, if you read Catching Fire you almost have to read the last. (I had another friend say he didn’t like the second, did the third redeem it? It completes it at any rate. You have to have closure.)

1 Comment

Filed under Action, Adventure, Fantasy, High school, Middle school (6-8), Scary

One response to “The Hunger Games series, Suzanne Collins: If I were to create a trailer

  1. Pingback: Edible Book Festivals | Class Bookworm

Leave a Reply

