Another Bookish Halloween!

Happy Halloween! 

I am out of school due to snow in the area, which is a shame/pleasure. The shame? This week was Red Ribbon Week and today was Character Day. The pleasure? Dude, if you have a choice, do NOT work with kids on a morning where they most likely had candy for breakfast. I subbed for a half-day on Valentine’s Day. I think they would have been awful any other day as well, but it was impacted by candy. Kids I know, well, I can threaten them at least. Kids you won’t see again? Eh.

Anyway. I’ve been very indecisive about Halloween this year, especially since I could dress up at work. I’m going to display how I can convert one dress into three different costume ideas.

I’m not good with self-portraits.

Image

Yeah, really bad at self-portraits. That was my “curiouser and curiouser” face. 

So, I took pictures of the dress with various props to display my ideas.  If you have heard of DisneyBound, I feel that this is along the same lines. It’s not an exact replica, it’s inspired by the character. For example, I don’t see anything wrong with being a character when you don’t look like them. It’s great when you do look like them, but why limit yourself?

Happy Bookish Halloween!

Step One: The dress

Image

Start with a blue dress. Any blue dress. I LOVE my Soda Fountain Dress from Mod Cloth (shown above), but they no longer sell this color.

Step 2: Pick your character

ALICE IN WONDERLAND: 

Image

Curiouser and curiouser!
My take on Alice: A giant bow in my hair. Blue dress. White skirt acting as a petticoat underneath dress. I have a bottle beside the dress, as in, “Drink Me.”

 Improvements that I could have made: the apron/pinafore. Maybe a Cheshire Cat prop, or a teacup with a mouse.  I wore black flats with it, but Mary Janes would have been cute. White tights would have been a give-away, but how often does a 29-year old need white tights?

Belle 

Image

“I want adventure in the great wide somewhere!”
I didn’t notice until recently how similar Belle and Alice’s dresses were (obviously going for Belle’s everyday look and not ball-dancing look).
Blue dress, skirt as petticoat, and a book. (The Princess Bride: far-off places, daring sword fights, magic spells, a prince in disguise… it would totally be her favorite. Except I momentarily forgot Westley was a pirate, not a prince.)

Again, needs a pinafore. Flats would be great with this.  Hair tied back, nothing fancy.

Finally, and this one’s a stretch, but let’s try it… 

Cherry from The Outsiders

Image

Cherry is the darling red-headed Soc from The Outsiders. As played by Diane Lane in the movie, she’s the type wearing a cardigan and a skirt. 

Improvements: I was going to pair up with the school counselor to both be Outsiders for Character Day today. You HAVE to have a Greaser with you to pull off Cherry. You also have to have red hair. I was willing to dye my hair red… just not blonde.

Enjoy your Halloween! Don’t hesitate to think outside the box… or inside the book! Get lots o’ candy! 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Another Bookish Halloween!

  1. I love that you bought a ModCloth dress. 1. Because I love their style, and 2.Because now I can ask you a bunch of questions about them. I have NEVER ordered clothing online because it’s hard enough for me to find stuff that fits properly when I go to a store. But I just LOVE their clothes, and I think they’re decently priced. So, how do you like them? Are they good quality clothes? Have you ever had any issues? If so, was the company easy to deal with? How “true to size” is the clothing? See, lots of questions. 🙂

  2. Hey Carrie! 🙂 I’m a total fan of ModCloth. I have ordered three dresses from them with a bunch of research, and got another dress in a “grab bag” surprise. I have a hard time finding dresses that fit me *perfectly*. As my mom pointed out the last time she altered a dress, I have a large front and a small back. So, I have one dress that is slightly large in the back (but I need a camisole with it anyway), and one that has slightly-too-big arm holes that I wear a light sweater with. That said, I’ve been pleased with the fit overall. One thing they encourage you to do is measure clothes you already know fit you and go from there. They get items from different companies, which complicates things a bit, but they put whether an item runs small, large, or true to size on the page. I figured out where I fall on the size chart, and I’ve had really good luck since then. So, the photo above and the few that I have at my cousin’s wedding where I wore another ModCloth dress look a bit frumpy, but when I stand up straight like a lady the dresses generally look nice. 🙂

    DEFINITELY check out the reviews on the product. Some are better quality than others, and some people expect different things. I took a chance on this dress because some people thought it was too thin and others thought the bust was too tight. It is a bit thin, but I was expecting that. I don’t think it’s unreasonably tight in the bust, but I could just be used to that. Keep in mind, I’m also an Old Navy/Kohls shopper, so I’m not looking for designer quality or anything.

    I have not had a problem with ModCloth, but they seem to have an easy return policy (unless it’s a grab bag or clearance). The only thing that hasn’t worked for me was a $12 pair of shoes that had a “Final sale” on the item. Alas!

    I hope that helps. Let me know if you have any more questions!
    ~Amber

Leave a Reply

